Announcing The 2013 Edition of Molly’s Imaginary Summer Book Club

Full name: Molly’s Imaginary Summer Book Club Featuring Classics of Women’s Literature Defined As Books Authored By, About or Widely Read By Women in the 20th Century, as to structure my summer reading so I don’t just re-read The Bonfire of the Vanities* and/or Needful Things** for the 50th time… 

This year’s titles are…

Imitation of Life

Imitation of Life By Fannie Hurst: Two desperate single mothers, one White, one Black, come together to build a pancake empire and deal with their troubled teenaged daughters in early 20th-century Atlantic City. (June)

Cofee Tea or Me?

Coffee, Tea or Me?: The Uninhibited Memoirs of Two Airline Stewardesses By Trudy Baker and Rachel Jones: Chock full of information about the swingin’ places we can go in 1967 Manhattan, once I get that time machine working. Also, to answer the question “How far in advance do you pick these books?” the answer is “Far enough in advance that I thought we could discuss this in the context of the TV series ‘Pan Am’.” (July)

By Grand Central Station...

By Grand Central Station I Sat Down And Wept By Elizabeth Smart: Canadian writer Smart’s account of her affair with poet George Baker, including their 1940 arrest for “moral turpitude” at the Canadian border. It’s prose! It’s a poem! It’s a prose-poem! We’ll see how that works! (August)

Stepford Wives

The Stepford Wives By Ira Levin: It turns out that some men didn’t take to the burgeoning women’s movement as well as Alan Alda and Phil Donohue. (September)

(*actually, my 25-year old trade paperback of Bonfire finally, totally, beyond-Scotch tape-repair disintegrated last summer and I haven’t found a replacement yet.)

(**Needful Things was replaced with both a sturdy hardcover and an e-book, showing that I learned my lesson.)

Past Imaginary Summer Book Club titles can be found here.

This entry was posted in Non-YA Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Announcing The 2013 Edition of Molly’s Imaginary Summer Book Club

  1. I am so excited! I noted that Imitation of Life is also a movie; will we be watching the companion DVDs this year?? I have already downloaded the book to my Kindle! Ben was confused until I asked him if he remembered the “tiny book with the weird illustration on the front and the Chinese man-servant”. He remembered it and named it! So proud.

    • mondomolly says:

      I am totally excited that Ben remembered Elinor Glyn!

      There are actually *2* movie versions of Imitation of Life (1934 and 1959) which are each totally bonkers in their own way. So, I say both? Netflix had them both on a single disc at one point!

      There is a TV-movie version of Coffee Tea or Me which I have been trying to track down (I’ll let you know if I have any luck) and of course the movie version of the Stepford Wives (I refuse to acknowledge the remake).

  2. Pingback: Checking In With The Imaginary Summer Book Club: Imitation of Life, Part I (John Stahl 1934) | Lost Classics of Teen Lit, 1939-1989

  3. Pingback: Checking In With The Imaginary Summer Book Club: Imitation of Life, Part II (Douglas Sirk, 1959) | Lost Classics of Teen Lit, 1939-1989

  4. Pingback: Checking In With The Imaginary Summer Book Club: Coffee, Tea or Me? (Norman Panama, 1973) | Lost Classics of Teen Lit, 1939-1989

  5. Pingback: By Grand Central Station I Sat Down and Wept By Elizabeth Smart | Lost Classics of Teen Lit, 1939-1989

  6. Pingback: Wrapping Up The Imaginary Summer Book Club: The Stepford Wives (Bryan Forbes, 1975) | Lost Classics of Teen Lit, 1939-1989

Leave a Reply

