Seventeen & In-Between By Barthe DeClements

At seventeen, things aren’t so simple anymore…

I got a number of requests for the final book in DeClements’s series featuring Elsie Edwards, as she evolves from gross 5th grade pariah to a beautiful but emotionally scarred high school student while dealing with a neglectful mother, bratty younger sister, absentee father, and newfound popularity with her male classmates picks up halfway through Elsie’s junior year of high school.

While the middle-reader Nothing’s Fair in Fifth Grade pretty much solved all of Elsie’s problems by putting her on a starvation diet (and successfully escaping from a kidnapping attempt….), DeClements added more nuance when telling the story from Elsie’s point of view in its YA sequel How Do You Lose Those Ninth Grade Blues? And like its predecessor, this one benefits greatly from Elsie’s point of view, as an imperfect heroine with no easy answers.

The Plot: While Elsie had successfully overcome some of her insecurities and established a relationship with hunky senior football player Craddoc Shaw, the astute reader might have already been thinking that Craddoc wasn’t all he was cracked up to be.

Now about to turn seventeen, Elsie is still a math genius and talented soprano vocalist, and Jenny Sawyer is still her BFF. She has a better relationship with her younger sister, Robyn, who finally seems like she’s growing out of her bratty phase. But her relationship with her terrible mother is still tense (at one point Elsie admits that they’ve “mostly been ignoring each other for the last couple of years”), and her father and step mother are still constantly trying to rope her into babysitting for their now-toddler. Her ostensibly-platonic friend Jack (last seen smoking pot behind the auto shop in Ninth Grade) has dropped out of school and moved to across the state to work in the lumber industry.

And then there is Craddoc, who now has to be like 20 and a football star at Washington State. He and Elsie are still together, but things are complicated by both her close friendship with Jack and Craddoc’s pressuring her to sleep with him.

And then there’s Elsie’s mother. Jenny can’t believe it when Elsie spends most of her babysitting money on a purse for her mother’s Christmas present:

“Gawd, you’re extravagant,” she said as we scurried out to my car in the rain.

“I know, but I hardly ever find anything I’m sure she will like.”

“She’s always been such a bitch to you, I don’t know how you can’t even spend five dollars on her.”

I was the target of her frustrations until I was fifteen. That was after the diets had finally worked and I had Jenny and Jack for friends and Craddoc for love. Even though the damage no longer showed on the outside, the years with Mother set my head up to expect rejection.

DeClements packs A LOT of drama and moral dilemmas into the 18 chapters, but still balances it with a comic tone (in a throwaway line we learn that busybody Sharon has joined a cult, which I found hysterical). There is a major subplot involving a couple of Elsie’s delinquent classmates trying to break into the school’s new computer system to change their grades. Jenny’s parents finally call it quits (CALLED IT), with her father and younger brother moving to San Francisco. Elsie’s mother has a breast cancer scare. Elsie tutors a Special Ed student that her male classmates (….including Craddoc…) regard as an “easy lay”. Her father’s marriage is on the rocks, and she has to threaten her stepmother with a call to Child Protective Services when she takes out her problems on her baby brother.  And every time Craddoc comes home from college for a visit he’s on Elsie’s back about going to Planned Parenthood and getting on The Pill.

As always, Elsie turns to Jenny’s mother for advice:

Mrs. Sawyer nodded. “It’s that time, eh?”

“Anyway, he thinks it is.”

“And you?”

“I don’t know. It’s just that I always thought I’d be burning all up with desire and could hardly wait. I’m stupid I guess. Or maybe I’m frigid. I like his kisses and all, but.”

When over Christmas vacation Craddoc makes a whole THING about it and drives Elsie to Planned Parenthood himself (although he finds out that it takes a month for The Pill to be effective, dude), the reader is already starting to figure out that although Elsie is less than enthusiastic about Craddoc in that way she is starting to feel that way about Jack, whom she carries on a lengthy correspondence with throughout the book, but doesn’t actually show up until near the end. While the scene depicted on the cover never actually happens, he makes a surprise trip home for Christmas and all of that fresh air and exercise has turned him into a major hunk:

There he stood, a foot taller than me and with shoulders about three feet wide.

“Jack! I can’t believe it. You look so different! Come on in. Let me take your jacket. Ohh, Jack!” I dropped the jacket he’d handed me on the floor and threw my arms around him. Pulling back, I searched his face trying to figure out why he looked older. “It’s that mustache!”

I mean, it was the 80s.

After the new year, Craddoc plans another trip home, specifically for the reason of doin’ it, but those plans are foiled  when Elsie has a sudden psychic urge that Jack has been injured, and calls around the lumber camps to no avail, until she finally gives in and calls his estranged mother to find out, sure enough, there was a freak accident and Jack has been airlifted to the hospital.

A few weeks later Elsie makes the trip to see him, forcing both to admit that feelings are being felt:

“Give me a kiss good-bye.”

“Elsie.”

“I don’t care. Give me a kiss good-bye.”

He shook his head slowly. “No, it’s too much of a game for you and it’s too much the real thing for me.”

“It isn’t a game with me, Jack.”

“Then you have to make some decisions- “

“I know.”

A major point in the book is that Elsie is finally realizing that her good looks, talent, and intelligence (as well as latent guilt on her mother’s part) allow her to exercise a sort of power over people, and the temptation to use that power for only her own ends. While some readers have complained that Elsie comes off as judgmental in this book, I think DeClements does a good job of rounding out all of the characters- even when the amateur computer hackers get caught and arrested, they are still given enough backstory that you understand what drove them to it.

Okay, except maybe Craddoc. I mean, I’m sure it’s hard dating a high school girl when you’re in college, but he’s kind of a sleaze in this one. Elsie breaks up with him via U.S. Mail and decides to take a summer job near where Jack is working to see if they have a future together. SENSIBLE!

Sign It Was Written In 1984 Department:

“Robyn’s Atari and the practice computers in the math room don’t need passwords. But the computer in the attendance office and the ones in the counselors’ offices are hooked up to the main computer in Olson’s office, where all the data is stored. So those computers need passwords.”

Callback Department:
Elsie is now driving the 2-seat sports car her mother wouldn’t let her ride in in Fifth Grade, although it is noted she sold it to her for the full Blue Book value.

Also:

I caught reflections of myself in the wide mirror. The sweater seemed to make my eyes look bluer.

echos Elsie’s (rejected) overture towards her mother in Fifth Grade. 

This entry was posted in Vintage YA Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Seventeen & In-Between By Barthe DeClements

  1. Sheesh says:

    I was looking at my college yearbook not too long ago at a group picture of the “hot guy” fraternity. They all had Magnum PI mustaches! It really was an 80s thing. If this book was happening today, Jack would probably come home with a full beard to the middle of his chest and skinny jeans!

  2. casadega says:

    Yay, you reviewed this!! This was (and honestly still is) one of my all time fave YA books. As an adult though I am definitely one of those readers who finds Elsie too judgmental and often downright bitchy. For example, her younger sister gets dumped by her first boyfriend and Elsie’s response is something along the lines of “So? He’s not so great. Just find another guy.” This coming from the girl who in ninth grade had regular emotional breakdowns when Craddoc glanced in the general direction of another female. Also, she goes to the library looking for a psychology/self help book titled “The Informed Heart” and says “the dumb librarian asked me if it was a romance novel.” This obviously hit too close to home with me (because I am a librarian, lol) but hello, librarians do not know the contents of every one of the thousands of books in their libraries, Elsie!

    My biggest issue though, is with the subplot involving Jenny’s parents. Jenny’s father is offered a promotion if he moves to California. Her mother is very successful in her own career and doesn’t want to leave her job. They separate, and Jenny’s little brother decides to go with his father while Jenny stays with her mother. Talking about it with Elsie, the conversation goes:

    Elsie: Your mother would give up Kenny for a job?
    Jenny: The way she puts it, that’s no different from Dad giving up me for a promotion.

    Umm, yeah. Exactly. But when the father and brother come for Christmas, Kenny is now sullen and withdrawn, which Judgy McJudgerson – I mean, Elsie – totally blames on Jenny’s mother and thinks “I like Jenny’s mom, but there HAD to be some other way besides giving up Kenny. Even MY mother wouldn’t have done that.”

    From the length of this post, you can see I’ve thought about this quite a bit as an adult 🙂 I do still enjoy re-reading the Elsie books and I’ve always wished for another sequel. And yes, Craddoc would most definitely have a man bun 🙂

    • mondomolly says:

      Thanks for your comment! I love when books stick with you so you’re still thinking about them into adulthood- and yes, I wish Elsie had been featured in another sequel!

      While I am still TEAM ELSIE 100% I agree, that especially with the ongoing saga of Jenny’s parents she is certainly realistically self-centered and a little judgmental 😉

  3. Pingback: Sixth Grade Can Really Kill You By Barthe DeClements | Lost Classics of Teen Lit: 1939-1989

  4. Julie says:

    I think her judgementalism (if that’s a word) makes sense, considering her childhood and parental issues, and that she was still a teen and we such, prone to view things as black & white. Not to mention the era of was written in. So that doesn’t really bother me in the book. I think her reaction is in character and makes a lot of sense for her.

    • mondomolly says:

      I agree! I really like how DeClements expanded Elsie’s character and built upon her terrible childhood as the book progressed- in Fifth Grade, she’s not very sympathetic at all.

      Thanks for commenting!

  5. Pingback: The Fourth Grade Wizards By Barthe De Clements | Lost Classics of Teen Lit: 1939-1989

  6. Pingback: Seventeen and In-Between – One Day, One Sentence

  7. Jessymlee05 says:

    I loved the Elsie books as a tween and im rereading them as my city had to go into another covid lockdown. It is quite fun to reread the books as an adult. The reference about mushroom picking for example went woosh over my head when I was 11 or 12. Also reading it in the early 90s I didn’t realise that the book was published in 83 so I wondered why condoms were not mentioned not knowing that back then people thought that kids like Elsie and Co didnt get AIDS. I have a feeling in those days the kids probably thought that even Tessie couldnt have it and the boys like Craddoc would be would be more concerned about getting the clap or Other forms of VD (veneral disease) now STIs for you young ones from her. Despite dated references I can still relate although. I also didn’t find it dated even that Elsie judged Jenny’s Mum for working. Back then I think it was only younger women just entering the workforce who continued to work after children but the older generation of women like Jenny’s Mum they were raised to stay home so their children in turn saw it as normal. I don’t doubt Elsie changed her opinion after she herself as she got older. I would love to see fan fiction on the Elsie series. For example when did Jack start to crush on Elsie and the real deal with Tessie and Craddoc. Me thinks something happened when he was with Elsie but because Elsie was too young he is the type to say say it’s. Technically not cheating

  8. Pingback: I Never Asked You To Understand Me By Barthe DeClements | Lost Classics of Teen Lit: 1939-1989

Leave a comment